Princeton by the Numbers

Nassau Hall

Our People

  • In 2017-2018, Princeton enrolled 5,260 undergraduates, 849 of whom are New Jersey residents, representing almost every county in the state and 97 nations.
  • With 6900 benefits-eligible employees, Princeton University is one of the region's largest employers.
  • Total voluntary payments made to town of Princeton in 2017:  $3.09 million
  • Total local taxes paid in 2017: $12.3 million including $11.2 million paid to Princeton.
  • Number of members of the student body, faculty and staff and local alumni who volunteer in community service projects throughout the region each year: 2500+
  • Number of New Jersey governors educated at Princeton:   11
  • Number of alumni who are sitting members of the U.S. Supreme Court: 3
    Samuel Alito, ’72; Sonia Sotomayor ’76, and Elena Kagan ’81
  • Number of alumni who are sitting members of the N.J. Supreme Court: 1, Stuart Rabner, ’82
  • Alumni who are leaders in state government: Assemblyman Herb Conaway (D-7), ’85

Our Campus

  • Princeton University brings close to 860,000 visitors to campus and the region each year.
  • In FY2018, Princeton University had $358.5 million in sponsored research expenditures, including the University and the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory.
  • Princeton’s main campus contains 9.2 million square feet in 200+ buildings on 500 acres.   The Forrestal Campus contains an additional 860 acres.
  • The Dinky Line, running between Princeton Junction and Princeton Station, is the shortest regularly scheduled commuter line in the country at 2.9 miles.
  • Since establishing the Energy Master Plan in 2008, the University has achieved or identified for implementation an annual energy savings of approximately $5 million and annual CO2 reductions of more than 28,000 metric tons.
  • Princeton was one of the few institutions in the state that was able to maintain critical functions during the power outage after Hurricane Sandy because of the power supplied by the 15MW cogeneration plant and the flexibility of its microgrid.
  • Princeton’s main campus and Forrestal campus are located in three municipalities (Princeton, West Windsor and Plainsboro), two counties (Mercer and Middlesex), and three legislative districts (the 14th, 15th and 16th).